World War 1 Centennial Commission Appointments Completed


The Liberty Memorial in KansasCity

The Liberty Memorial in KansasCity

President Obama’s three appointments to the World War 1 Centennial Commission on August 8, 2013 have completed the twelve-member body which will oversee planning for national commemorations of US participation in the First World War.

Appointed to the Commission on August 8 were MGEN  Alfred Valenzuela, US Army (Ret.), former Missouri Congressmen Ike Skelton, and Dr. Libby O’Connell, senior historian of the A&E television network.  The complete Centennial Commission also includes:

  • Rep. Ted Poe of Texas
  • COL Thomas Moe, USAF (Ret.), Director of Ohio Veterans Affairs
  • Dr. Mary L. Cohen, Chair of the Board of Trustees for the National World War I Museum
  • Mr. Robert J. Dalessandro, Chief of the US Army’s Center of Military History (CMH)
  • Mr. Richard Kolb, Director of Publications for the VFW
  • Mr. James S. Whitfield of Independence, MO, representing The American Legion
  • Mr. Jerry L. Hester of North Carolina
  • Mr. James B. Nutter of Kansas City, MO
  • Mr. Edwin L. Fountain of Washington, DC

The World War I Centennial Commission’s purpose, as established in Public Law 112-272, is to ensure suitable observances of the centennial of the First World War.  The commission’s activities will center on the National World War I Museum in Kansas City, MO, and its initial meeting, by law, will take place by September 8, 2013.

For more information on the World War I Centennial Commission, see the text of Public Law 112-272 here.